3-3/5 Whether Score with Second Ball Counts If Ball Dropped in Wrong Place and Played
Q:In stroke play, a competitors ball came to rest on an artificially-surfaced road which had not been declared an integral part of the course. The competitor, not sure whether the road was an obstruction or an integral part of the course, invoked Rule 3-3 and announced that he wished his score with the second ball to count. He played his original ball as it lay and dropped and played a second ball under Rule 24-2b(i). He met all the requirements of that Rule, except that he dropped the second ball almost two club-lengths from the nearest point of relief, instead of within one club-length. Does the score with the second ball count?
A:No. Rule 3-3b(i) states in part: "If the ball that the competitor selected in advance to count has been played in accordance with the Rules, the score with that ball is the competitors score for the hole." In this case, the ball selected in advance to count (i.e., the second ball) was not played in accordance with the Rules since it was dropped almost two club-lengths from the nearest point of relief. Accordingly, the score with the original ball counts.